SHADOW AND BONE BY LEIGH BARDUGO- REVIEW//WHERE I SQUEAL IN JOY

10194157

THIS BOOK WAS EVERYTHING. JUST PERFECTION. I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO CONTINUE MY LIFE.

300

this story is about a girl named Alina and she is a mapmaker. one day, as she and her trope are going through the fold, volcras (flesh eating birds) attack them and Alina saves Mal (her friend and also her crush) and it is revealed that she is a Grisha. The Grisha are these magicians (kind of) and have different kinds of powers. But to everyone it is a shock as when the people are just kids, some people come and take their test to know whether they are a Grisha. Alina also did that test but they did not know that she is a Grisha. then alina is taken to the Little Palace where all the Grisha live and train. the story picks  from there.

THINGS I LIKED-
1.) THE FOOD AND THE DRESSES AND THE WHOLE PALACE- everything was so clearly and nicely described that I felt that I was there with Alina. every description was so gorgeous, I was swooning the entire time.
CAKE CUZ WHY NOT?

1300

2.) RUSSIAN-ESQUE WORLD- it is inspired by Russian folklore and I love diverse fantasy books! GIVE ME ALL OF THEM.

 

3.) THE CHARACTERS+ THE MAIN CHARACTER- They all felt real and I absolutely loooved Alina. she was snarky, a little bit of sarcastic but she was also afraid and doubted herself. it felt really good to see a main character that did not always know what to do and how to do. Such characters like Alina are really hard to find.

4.) DID I TALK ABOUT THE DARKLING YET?- the darkling is kind of the main head of the Grisha. he was ever so mysterious and I was drawn to him. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE HIM BUT WHAT HAPPED AFTER THE BALL….. NOOOOO KILL ME ALREADY. (No please #justdont)

THINGS I DID NOT REALLY LIKE-

1.) MAL- I hated Mal. he was so bad to Alina. also, I shipped Alinaxdarkling but maybe my opinions changed? I DO NOT KNOW.

2.) IT WAS REALLY SLOW AT TIMES- I feel all fantasy books have a certain slow pace sometime in the novel. well, this is necessary for the world building and stuff. Just had to get that out 😉

OVERALL A FANTASTIC BOOK. DEFINETELY RECOMMENDED. WHAT ARE YOU DOING? READ IT NOWWWWWWW!!!!

well for extras, some GIFs showing my love for SHADOW AND BONE and to sum up my feelings for it-

HTRHGYU 475 HGRR GNNHT

7 thoughts on “SHADOW AND BONE BY LEIGH BARDUGO- REVIEW//WHERE I SQUEAL IN JOY

  1. AHH YES I AM WITH YOU HERE! I 100% agree on Mal. Ugh, he’s so annoying. I don’t ship Alina and the Darkling, but waaait until bk 2. My precious comes in during bk 2 and I cannot love him enough. *shrieks* But yes the food was glorious and Russian folklore is aaaamazing and basically all the love to this incredible book.😍

    Like

  2. I neeeeeeeeeeed to start this series! I cannot believe I am sitting here still having not read a Leigh Burdugo. Especially when there are all these fantastic glowing reviews around – just like this one!

    Okay – I’m going to go shuffle my TBR now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

