CITY OF BONES BY CASSANDRA CLARE- REVIEW

cityofbones

did you notice something?? This photo? okay I will tell you. this is a bookstagram, and I hardly ever do it.

  1. it is freaking messy and IMPOSSIBLE to clean up.
  2. I own mostly e-books.
  3. I am a lazy bean.

BUT I DID IT TODAY SO A HUGE ROUND OF APPLAUSE FOR ME.

thanks2now tell me tell you a story (bonus)

I read the Infernal Devices books back in march while there was a sale going on ebooks. I really liked them but had a lot of issues. after some days, I bought the entire mortal instruments on ebook too. I wanted to read them as Lady Midnight had just come out and everyone was FREAKING LOVING it. but the problem was, I really couldn’t finish City of Bones. the writing was just so darn THICK! I am a sucker for dialogue so I skim read the descriptions but missed ALL THE DETAILS plus it got so confusing for my mind that I stopped reading. then comes May. my friend invited me to her birthday party and she loves books like me so I went to the bookstore to buy something. There I noticed Lady Midnight sitting on the shelves and had to buy it. CONTROL GOES IN VAIN. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I READ IT, LOVED IT AND IT IS NOW ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BOOKS OF THIS YEAR.  I hadn’t read the other million TMI books you need to read before Lady Midnight, but I wasn’t confused. I became a huge fan of Shadowhunters after reading Lady midnight.  now September. I took the risk and bought the TMI series in the new UK paperback. I love them after struggling foir some time but now I am obsessed.

I am also so so grateful to my friend as if it hadn’t been her birthday, I would NEVER have bought Lady midnight as I don’t go to the bookstore and buy ALL my books online.

so maybe we should get on with the review, shall we?? 😉

OKAY SO FIRST THE THINGS THAT I LIKED-

  1. THE HUMOR- all of Cassie’s books are really funny and this does not miss the humor.

(P.S- I HAVEN’T YET READ ANY OF RICK RIORDAN’S BOOKS (SUE ME) AND HE IS CONSIDERED THE FUNNIEST WRITER. WE ARE GETTING THERE. ONE DAY I WILL READ ALL OF HIS BOOKS. ONE DY. JUST WAIT)

2. SIMON OH DEAR SIMON- He is my absolute favourite character and his nerd outbursts are the best which the shadowhunters have no idea of as they are busy in demon slaying. #priorities

3. THE WRITING- this can be seen as both an advantage and a disadvantage. if you are a sucker of descriptions plus gorgeous writing, THEN THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU.

4. BAD ASS ACTION- Cassie has a natural talent of writing action scenes, and I loved each one of them, specially the Hotel Dumort one and the Greater Demon one.

5. A GOOD URBAN FANTASY- This isn’t what you would call entirely original, but it keeps you entertained and one the edge of your seat. I wasn’t bored even once.

THINGS I DID NOT LIKE-

  1. SLOW PACING- This book is sooo slow, even a tortoise will win if they race. this indeed helps in the end when there is action plus a cliffhanger ending.
  2. THE DETAILS- Many of the descriptions were so much in detail which I felt was really unnecessary. they are described in so much detail, I mean JUST STOP.

so that is it!!!!

I hope you enjoyed my review plus I totally recommend any Cassandra Clare book even if they are really slow. If you do not like reading a million books and don’t care for spoilers, then start with Lady midnight, otherwise read the infernal devices first, then the mortal instruments, the bane chronicles and tales from the shadowhunter academy and in the end lady midnight. YOU WON’T REGRET THIS DECISION.

My promise.

SO TELL ME- HAVE YOU READ ANY BOOKS BY CASSANDRA CLARE OR PLAN ON READING THEM?  ALSO HAVE YOU READ A BOOK THAT IS INCREDIBLY SLOW BUT SO DARN WORTH IT IN THE END?

14 thoughts on “CITY OF BONES BY CASSANDRA CLARE- REVIEW

  1. Ah, Lady Midnight, yes let’s share the love! I liked The Mortal instruments series (first 3 books anyway), but I much preferred The Infernal Devices and then Lady Midnight even more. The writing gets so much better with every book, it’s crazy. Also, yes to Simon ❤

    Like

  2. Oh, I enjoyed the first three books in TMI, I struggled with 4, 5 & 6 but I adored TID and obviously Lady Midnight. I also loved all the Novellas. Cassie Clare is definitely one of my favourite YA authors!

    Sorry about your struggle with this one, but I’m glad you persevered and ended up really enjoying it! (PS love the bookstagram!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes even I too feel the last 3 were not needed…. I mean stuff about Simon is not really clear (like love interest) so I liked those parts but all the books are dang slooow. (P.S THANK YOU!!! YOUR COMMENT MADE MY DAY :))

      Like

  3. I loved the humor, dialogue, and world building of this book and I understand why so many are besotted with it, but…the attraction and unrequited love took up too much of it for me. I summed it up for my brother as “Clary is in love with Jace, Alec is in love with Jace, and Jace is also in love with Jace.” I just…both Clary and Alec can do better and their hopeless pining was kind of sad and too big a part of the story for my tastes.

    I know Clare’s fandom is massive and I admire her imagination, but I’m with you in not really “clicking.” Still. Wish her all the best. 🙂

    Like

    1. Seriously though. I hate the fact that EVERYONE is in love with Jace. WHY IS HE SO PERFECT??? I agree 100% with you,,,, with the unrequited love thing. plus stuff that happens in the next two books is wayyy too gross for my tastes. #sorrynotsorry hopefully you get what I am talking about.

      Like

  4. Hey, you did the Bookstagram thing, hats off. (And I have such pity on you for having to clean that up *shudders*) I’ve only read the first in this series, but I’m so glad Simon gets to shine. He is my favorite character, too, the precious cupcake. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  5. I read this one nearly ten years ago (woah) and I really liked it. I wasn’t even a teen yet but I thought the story was lovely. I didn’t like City of Ashes as much, but then I liked City of Glass… and then the second set of three books was announced. I hated City of Fallen Angels and couldn’t finish the rest of the series. :/ I’ll always adore City of Bones though! =)

    I’m glad you liked this one! Great review. ❤

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    Like

    1. I know. This series is quite old…. I loved City of Bones and the next two books too but I felt that the new ones were just unnecessary. (still enjoyed them) Sebastian was dead, so bringing him back seemed just a fuss to me and again, a plot that we did not need. If she had instead written some novellas about Simon after City of Glass, I would be happier:(
      Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  6. You literally just summed up my entire relationship with City of Bones. I’ve tried to read it twice in the past, failing both times, until I was just seized with this notion to just READ THE DAMN BOOK, Leah. So, like you, I went and bought the whole series on a whim (and when I say whole series I mean TMI, TID AND Lady Midnight). Since I bought it I’ve been Jonesing to read it (which is intriguing) AND THEN I DID. AND I LOVED IT. It took me 50 pages or so to get into, but once I actually got into it, it was fantastic. I’m not craving City of Ashes, but I have other books to read first (such is life).

    I’ve also started watching the show on Netflix and hot damn is it cheesy, but it’s also fantastic. To see the book come to life so soon after watching it, is incredible and I keep shouting out all the things they’ve changed, like a loon. I’m wary of going too far into the show, though, in case I spoil the other books so I’m watching on tenterhooks.

    Simon is just life. He is amazing, both in the book and on the show. It makes me sad that Clary likely won’t even give Simon a second thought romantically (I mean I love Jace! He’s hilarious) but Simon is adorkable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to know there is someone who has had the same experience as me! Plus I haven’t watched the show and never really will, I don’t know why LOLOL!
      SIMON IS AMAZING AND I LOVE HIM (EVERYONE IN THE WORLD SHOULD AHEMMM)

      Like

Leave a Reply

