TOP TEN TUESDAY- FT. 10 BOOKS I WANT TO READ IN A BOOK CLUB :)

 

 

bookclubedit

 

Hi everyone! I never do Top Ten Tuesday as my schedule is the most hectic on Tuesdays, but I had a holiday today so decided to do it.

TOP TEN TUESDAY is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

honestly, today’s topic was top 10 books to read if your book club likes _______, but since I KNOW ABSOLUTELY NOTHING of book clubs, I decided to do what Lindsey was doing. (hope it is alright!!)

SO LET US START. *a million drum rolls*

  1. THE INFERNAL DEVICES TRILOGY BY CASSANDRA CLARE.

DOES ONE DAY GO BY WHEN I DO NOT MENTION THE SHADOWHUNTERS? (spoilers-no)

I just cannot help it. well some reasons why I want to discuss this series is the issues I have with some of the characters. Also, Will Herondale. Enough Said. (I doubt I am the only one who has a huge crush on him.) oh also, I have SO MANY crackpot theories about The Last Hours trilogy (which is the sequel to TID) AND GOD KNOWS WHEN IT WILL RELEASE.

crying-emoji

2.  THRONE OF GLASS SERIES BY THE ALMIGHTY SARAH J. MAAS

I have wayyy too many issues with this series. the way it is heading now (TOO MANY SEX SCENES!!!!) just no. #stahp

I won’t say anything else right now but maybe do a separate post about it one day.

3. LITTLE WOMEN BY LOUISA MAY ALCOTT

little-women

My 12 year old shippy heart wasn’t the only one which broke completely after Laurie’s proposal and also, when Jo marries that hundred year old professor (whose name I do not even remember #sorrynotsorry)

4.)  THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN BY ROSHANI CHOKSHI

star-touched

Last week only I told you all that I did not enjoy this book at all. I would like to discuss the issues in a more professional way, #AMIRIGHT (ah well, of course I am)

5.) AM I NORMAL YET BY HOLLY BOURNE

am-i-normal-yet-2

this book is so truthful, so raw, just I can’t  recommend it enough. GO READ IT NOW. also, it offers such a realistic insight into OCD and mental illness. the book is filled with feminism and that ending had me BAWLING HARD.

6.) MY LADY JANE BY BRODI ASHTON, JODI MEADOWS AND CYNTHIA HAND

my-lady-jane

THIS BOOK IS SOOOOOOOOOOO FUNNY, YOU WILL REMEMBER THE JOKES FOREVER.

some of them-

1.) “No horse jokes,” he said.
“My lord, I apologize for the horse joke. If you put down the book—unharmed!—I will give you a carrot.”
He brandished the book at her. “Was that a horse joke?”
“Neigh.”
“Was that a horse joke?”   

2.) “He pretended to stretch his arms, in order to shift even closer to her. (This isn’t in the history books, of course, but we’d like to point out that this was the first time a young man had ever tried that particular arm-stretch move on a young woman. Edward was the inventor of the arm stretch, a tactic that teenage boys have been using for centuries.)”   

FOUR words-

I TOLD YOU SO.

7.) SHADOW AND BONE BY LEIGH BARDUGO

10194157

I also have a review, so go check that out, and if you have already read it, then you know how much I lurved this book. the food. the dresses. The Darkling. How much I hate Mal. You know, all important topics. (also I haven’t read the rest of the books in this trilogy but I know who Alina ends up with and I cry thinking about it)

8.) TRUTHWITCH BY SUSAN DENNARD

21414439

I DESCRIBE MY FEELINGS FOR THIS BOOK IN THIS POST SO check it out! the reasons why I hated this book were that there was no plot whatsoever, just roaming here and there plus NO WORLD BUILDING. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU TRUTHWITCH? Many people lurve this book so I would like to chat with them to know why they like it.

9.) THE RAVEN BOYS BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

THERAVENBOYS

again I have a review for this one. (p.s the review was my first one so it is kind of trashy. YE HAVE BEEN WARNED) ASDFGHJK I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH.

AND THE RAVEN BOYS

AND JANE (lol if you read it you know what I am talking about)

plus more people need to read this series (again I have only read the first book)

I CANNOT FORCE YOU ENOUGH TO READ THIS SERIES

10.)  HARRY POTTER SERIES BY J.K ROWLING

hp

WE CAN HAVE OUR YEARLY REREADS AT CHRISTMAS AND IT WOULD BE THE BEST THING EVER.

So that is it!

tell me- have you read any of the above books? are you in a book club? do you think that there are some books that you desperately need to discuss with someone?

 

 

31 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY- FT. 10 BOOKS I WANT TO READ IN A BOOK CLUB :)

  1. Argh. I’ll discuss some of these with you but others I have yet to read!

    Firstly – Shadowhunters. 🙂 🙂 🙂 LOVE THEM. I want ALL THE CLARE BOOKS. GIMME GIMME GIMME. More of the early Herondales? YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Also – SJ Maas. I love her. I’m sorry you are hating the latest Throne of Glass additions. 😦 I am in the middle of my re-read of this series – currently around 20% through Crown of Midnight and then I get to Empire of Storms (which I am so excited for – bad reviews or no!). I can’t wait to see what it is like and then we can have ALL the discussions. 🙂

    My Lady Jane sounds HILARIOUS and I love the quotes you shared. It’s on my TBR so … One Day!

    I need to read the Raven Boys so bad.

    And I’m STILL re-reading HP – I need to pick up book 6 sometime this year but there’s all the OTHER books I need to read too!!!!! My TBR makes me weep. 😦

    Cool post and great picks!

    Like

    1. Ugh. I hate Jace, but I loooove Will and also James! *winks* I hope for everyone’s sakes you like Empire Of Storms! Honestly, I think you are the only one who gives me motivation to pick up Heir Of Fire. our TBRs never stop growing. I wonder if there will be a day when we would not have any SINGLE BOOK on our TBR. I will dance then.

      Like

      1. I have a love hate relationship with my TBR. I don’t ever want it to end – and odds are it never will! So many good books out there to be read! 🙂 I just hope I can keep it more ofthe size of just one continent, you know? I wouldn’t want my TBR to erupt and take over the entire WORLD! 😉

        Like

  2. YES, The Infernal Devices! I would love to talk about anything Shadowhunters related! Can’t wait for The Last Hours (and Lord of Shadows – I so hope we’ll get a cover soon!)
    Also, I agree about Throne of Glass! It’s my favorite series, but it does have some issues which I’d love to discuss…
    I liked Truthwitch because I felt it could be an epic series, but I do agree that book one lacked a bit of plot. Hope this gets better in Windwitch!
    And of course, also YES to the Grisha series, the Raven Cycle and Harry Potter.
    Lady Jane is on my TBR, it sounds super funny!

    Like

    1. SO TRUE FOR EVERYTHING SHADOWHUNTERS. Honestly, people complain that there are so many books in this world but I CANNOT HAVE ENOUGH. I am also sooo excited for windwitch. Hope it gets better. For the quotes from My Lady Jane, there were some more which were really funny but they weren’t on Goodreads and looking from my copy would take a lot of time so I skipped them. *feels sad for the quotes*

      Like

  3. There’s so many awesome books on your list! I would love to discuss Shadow and Bone and HP with a book club. I just need people to talk about books with in real life. 🙂 Great list!

    Like

  4. I HAVE SO MUCH LOVE FOR THE RAVEN CYCLE I CANNOT EVEN CONTAIN MYSELF. *shrieks from the rooftops* 💕 I love the boys. And Jane. SO MUCH JANE. And also the dog?! I love Dog. (Have you read to Blue Lily Lily Blue yet?) But afjdaskld to that whole series and I love discussing it with people so it’d be wonderful for a book club because there are so many foreshadows and hints and just GAH IT’S AMAZING. Ahem. 😂 #fangirl

    Like

    1. OH DEAR JANE. 😉 also, I knew you would fangirl madly if you commented because of course you love The Raven Cycle. and no, I have only read the first book but I am a mild (emphasis) fangirl now. I do not have any free second these days with school, plus NaNo. Enough said.
      P.S- It was only because of you that I picked The Raven Boys in the first place (since you mention it all the time) SO THANK YOU FROM A FANGIRL’S HEART.

      Like

  5. Oh, lord, this is one of the reasons I don’t belong to a book club! They never read books I wanted to read! But these only prove your good taste. 😉 Honestly, if I got to hijack a book club for a year, they would be reading SO MANY obscure indie books that are nonetheless AWESOME and those who didn’t hate me and come with pitchforks and torches would love me. 😛 Loving the number of YA fantasy books here. And I seem to have forgotten those parts of Little Women. I should probably read the book at some point instead of just the movie.

    Like

    1. I would honestly love to join a physical book club, but digital ones on goodreads are also amazing! I have joined quite a few… but never once read the group monthly book. yes, I read little women a long time ago so a reread is needed for both of us! although it was really preachy so I would not pick it up any time soon.

      Like

  6. I love how you included the truth witch even though you hated it. Sometimes I forget that I can do that, so all of my list generally end up with books that I adored – which doesn’t really add all that much variety at all! My Lady Jane sounds entertaining, the horse jokes are hilarious aha c: I haven’t actually read the Throne of Glass series yet! Although I am going to be starting on her other one, the ACOTAR series?
    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted IS SHE CRAZY OR ON TO SOMETHING? | THE VAULT OF DREAMERS BY CARAGH M. O’BRIEN

    Like

    1. yes, in a community as big as books, everyone has different opinions so I think we should discuss books we do not like also, and the issues why we did not like them. MY LADY JANE IS TOTALLY HILARIOUS, hope you pick it up soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ahhh I need to read so many books on this list! I’ve yet to read Empire of Storms, but I’m half dreading/half super excited about it. I’ve heard a mix between really good and really bad reviews, so it will be an interesting read, I think…
    Great post! 😄

    Like

  8. I keep borrowing Shadow and Bone and I keep having to return it without ever cracking the spine. WHICH BUGS ME BECAUSE I LOVED SIX OF CROWS.
    All hail Harry Potter, the Boy who Lived

    Like

Leave a Reply

