THE FRENCH IMPRESSIONIST BOOK REVIEW

french-impressionistSeriously. WHAT DID I JUST READ. No, I am not saying this in a good way, but in a bad way. From the starting itself, I had a ton of problems. I wasn’t disappointed, or sad or dejected after reading this book because let’s face it, I HAD ABSOLUTELY ZERO EXPECTATIONS GOING IN. And that kind of helped me since I totally hated this book. But since this was my very first ARC, I am feeling a little bad that it is a negative review.
I have made a GLORIOUS list of things that I hated (as I liked nothing ahem)
1. IT WAS SO UNREALISTIC
After reading the synopsis itself, I was kind of rolling my eyes because you just DO NOT escape from your home because there are issues.  I totally agree that bad stuff was happening in  Rosemary’s life, but if I was in her place, I wouldn’t escape 1000 miles away to France(even though France is Beautiful!!!) Then the ending happened, the plot twists and it was TOO MUCH TO HANDLE. And Rosemary’s mom worries way too much about her. She is constantly calling her and what not. At times her mom is also suspicious as to where her daughter is. For that thing, she could have easily tracked Rosemary’s phone…..
2. I HATED THE ROMANCE
So Rosemary is staying with a couple who also have a shop. There some tourists come one day and they have a hot son. (lol) That guy is really rude and horrible plus he treats Rosemary like trash, and all she thinks is that ya, he was rude and bad to me, but he was hot. (I think his name is Gavin or Gabe or something. I do not even remember it. #noregrets) I HAVE HAD ENOUGH OF SUCH YA TROPES. #justsaying
3. ROSEMARY WAS ANNOYING
All her narrative felt to me was a rant and just get a grip, girl. Then we throw the mystery in. Basically, in Rosemary’s room, there is like a wall crack behind which is a door (that opens into an ancient vintage apartment) She goes there every day and even STEALS STUFF. There is this lady who tries to warn her, but our good ol’ Rosemary would have nothing of that.
4. THE ENDING AND THE PLOT TWISTS
At this point in the book, I wasn’t even caring for anything. Plus what is the purpose of a plot twist if you aren’t surprised?? So many loose threads were left and I did not give a damn about Rosemary’s well being.
Last thoughts- This was nothing like I hoped and the synopsis sounds better than  the actual content of the book.

giphy

Thank you to the publisher for providing me an eARC via Netgalley!!

20 thoughts on “THE FRENCH IMPRESSIONIST BOOK REVIEW

  1. When I first read the title my first thought was “this looks like it could be funny”… obviously it isn’t. Well done on managing to finish it, I don’t think I could have :/ Hopefully your next read was better

    Like

  2. Of course there’s a hot son who treats her terribly. Sigh. Who still thinks these tropes are a good idea? Geez irritating is right. I’m with you on this. Sorry this was disappointing!

    Like

  3. Wow. Quite the hate list. I just came from your review glowing review of All the Bright Places and WHAT a transition! But I suppose every book can’t be that great. ;/ At least you had not expectations to be dashed??? I don’t know?I’m having a hard time finding something positive to say about this.

    Like

    1. Yeah I get it. I had never ever posted a negative review before and I wasn’t afraid of the backlash since no one has read this book 😛 Sometimes you are just a negative bean and can’t say anything else, I get it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

