ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES-BOOK REVIEW

edit atbp NEW ED DIT.jpgGOODREADS SUMMARY-

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

So everyone on goodreads (my friends anyways) love this book and I FINALLY decided to read it. AND OF COURSE I LOVED IT. I have been posting just reviews recently but the next post would be something cool, I PROMISE. (although I think all of my posts are cool ahem) My Amazon order also arrived yesterday (I ordered the screenplay of Fantastic beasts and the HP #1 illustrated edition)

I am also going to post a review for the movie and screenplay, but AGAIN TOO MANY REVIEWS. I feel like my blog is being OVERLOADED WITH REVIEWS. *laughs since it is quite a funny remark*

ANYWAYS, HERE IS THE REVIEW!!!

things-i-liked

1. ) THEODORE FINCH AKA MY BAE <3- Can I introduce you to my newest fictional boyfriend?? Finch is not your usual love interest and he suffers from a mental illness (Can’t tell you cause spoilers…..) He is just adorable, and funny and amazing AND I WILL GUSH ABOUT HIM FOREVER. He is just the sort of character you want to hug and safely tuck in bed at night. THIS SAYS SOMETHING. I was always waiting for his chapters.

2.) THE TWO MAIN CHARACTERS HAD DISTINCTIVE VOICES- I absolutely hate when there are paper plate characters and the two characters feel absolutely the same. Violet and Finch were two different people with two totally different voices and I loved that because that is what we need in YA. Violet is not my most favourite character of ever, but I did not dislike her. (Shhh Finch is the best!! 🙂 XD)

3.) PARENTS AND SIDE CHARACTERS- I did not love all of these characters but I loved that they were sprinkled throughout the story. Again, I hate books in which parents are there for just EXISTING, you know and FRIENDS THAT ARE SUPER MEAN TO THE MAIN CHARACTER. (people are mean to Finch, but they aren’t his friends..)

4.) YAY FOR DIVERSITY- It features mental illness, plus Finch’s kind of best friend Charlie is black. What’s not to love??

5.) IT DEALT WITH TOUGH ISSUES- Come on, you all. The book starts with the two main characters meeting on the bell tower of the school and their purpose is to commit suicide. Also, Finch is obsessed with suicide and he basically just wants to die. THIS IS NOT ALL CAKE AND CHOCOLATE.

THINGS I DID NOT LIKE.jpg

1.) THE ENDING- WHY DID THAT HAVE TO HAPPEN? SERIOUSLY. The ending will break your heart YOU WILL CRY YOUR EYES OUT. #warning I knew what was going to happen by looking at the contents. DO NOT DO THAT. JUST DO NOT. YOU WOULD BE SPOILED. (Well I am a detective, what can I say? lol) It was also dragging SO NO.

detective-emoji
Me, basically.

 

OVERALL THOUGHTS!!

This was a total heart breaking book and I absolutely loved it. GO READ IT NOW. JUST GOOOOOOO. Seriously. IT IS SO GOOD.

MY RATING.jpg

5 stars.jpg

5 out of 5 stars!

tell me.jpg

Do you like books that break your heart? Have you read this book? Did you like it? I WOULD ABSOLUTELY LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS AHH ❤ ❤

 

42 thoughts on “ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES-BOOK REVIEW

  1. It depends on my moods. I am moody reader. I often avoid sad book or book that break my heart but sometimes I looking for one because I want to cry but I don’t why I want to cry and reading sad book/book that break my heart help me release my emotion. Cool review! It must be hard to not spoil any detail. I think O often spoil things in my book review. Hehehe

    Like

  2. Great review! I read this book in the beginning of the year and I agree with everything you said! I loved this book, I loved Finch, but the ending BROKE MY HEART. But even so, I still can’t wait for the movie! Though I don’t think I’ll be able to watch it without a ton of tissues with me…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! AND I GET IT THAT YOU AGREE WITH ME SINCE I KNOW EVERYTHING. *claps for myself* Yes Finch is the best! ❤ I think of making a list of my top 10 fictional boyfriends, but the rankings just keep changing, LMAO.I am not sure about my feelings for the movie because I think Hollywood destroys every book to movie adaptation….

      Like

  3. Oh no…… Bad endings scare me…. Although this is on my TBR I just hate having my heart ripped out and left bleeding! Argh. What do I do now??????????????

    This is a great review and I’m glad you have a new favourite. It might be enough to conivnce me to keep this one on my TBR 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow sounds really good although pretty emotional at the end?!? Yikes I don’t know… still I should give it a go. Love that the voices are distinct- that’s also my beef when two very different characters sound exactly the same narrative- wise. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been unsure whether or not I want to read this. I’m not even really sure why haha I found it a couple of months ago at my local thrift store for $2 and bought it since it was so cheap so I will end up reading it eventually. Hopefully I love it as much as everyone else does! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do like books that break my heart. I want to feel something while I am reading. I almost think it is better if I don’t know going in that it will be that kind of book. This story sounds really good. I knew from all the reviews last year that it was a sad story. I didn’t know it was about two suicidal kids. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I have myself read some books with these problems and clichés and it drove me mad to no end.. Hehe. And All the Bright Places is a must read for everyone, hope you get to it soon 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  7. Oh gosh, I’ve been desperately trying to avoid this because I KNOW how sad it will be. Call me weak, but I really don’t want to subject myself to that knowing what’s going to happen. I’m not that cruel! I’m generally not THAT bad with sad books, I just know that this one is likely to destroy me, even though I have a feeling that I’ll like the beginning and end. I’M SUCH A COWARD!!

    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted ASS KICKING & LOW RATINGS | SCARLETT EPSTEIN HATES IT HERE BY ANNA BRESLAW

    Like

  8. I’m so glad you enjoyed this! I read this a while ago and I can remember really liking the distinct voices of the two main characters, and it tackles some serious issues really sensitively.
    And that ending… 😦
    Awesome review! 🙂

    Like

  9. I am so glad you enjoyed this so much! I completely agree: it was such an emotional and well-written book. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

