FANTASTIC BEASTS-MOVIE AND SCREENPLAY REVIEW, OH AND ANOTHER BOOK HAUL… I HAVE A PROBLEM

377281867c24e260cbdce28280c4a1d9Hi people of the world! (or Saturn. or mars. or wherever you live really) I thought I would be professional and say that I am posting my review really late so that everyone can watch this movie, but I am not that, so I will tell you the real reason. I wrote a draft, and completely forgot about it, so here is the VERY late post! (salute me)

Also, on another note, I bought some more books. SHEESH. Actually I went to the World Book Fair in New Delhi on Sunday, and it was AWESOME. I have been going there since like 10 years. SO I COULDN’T MISS IT. I bought 11 books in total + 1 from a book shop that I went to on Thursday!

HERE’S THE HAUL, Y’ALL-

4864324445cd9120076065fb1ae3eed1.jpg

Sorry that the image is not that clear. My original version got deleted 😦

1.) NEVERNIGHT BY JAY KRISTOFF- This was the one I got from the bookshop. I am currently reading it and LOVING it, even though I am not that far into it.

2.) THE UNDOMESTIC GODDESS BY SOPHIE KINSELLA- I read I’ve got Your Number by this author and it was so cute and adorable! Let’s hope this does not disappoint.

3.) THE RAVEN KING BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER- I have read the first two books (okay technically 7 chapters of the Dream Thieves are left, but whatever) I love this series with all of my heart ❀

4.) WUTHERING HEIGHTS BY EMILY BRONTE- I hate classics, since I find them really boring and theyΒ give me a headache since I have a really short attention span. But since everyone loves the Bronte sisters, I decided to buy it! I wanted to get Jane Eyre also, but Scholastic did not have it :/

5.) CLOCKWORK ANGEL, CLOCKWORK PRINCE AND CLOCKWORK PRINCESS BY CASSANDRA CLARE- I read these books last year and loved them, although I gave CP2 onlyΒ 3 stars. I want to reread them and do a discussion post based on this, so yeah!

6.) ACOTAR, ACOMAF, THRONE OF GLASS, CROWN OF MIDNIGHT AND HEIR OF FIRE BY SARAH J. MAAS- I really want to give SJM another chance, hence this. Plus I totally bought ACOTAR and ACOMAF because of Esther. NO SHAME.

NOW ONTO THE REVIEW!!!

STUFF THAT WAS NICE-

1.) WE WERE BACK INTO THE WIZARDING WORLD AND SOMEHOW THAT WAS DA BEST. I never grew up with HP, so I didn’t have that nostalgia thing going on, but still.

2.) IT EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS WILDLYI had zero expectations going in, all thanks to Cursed Child which I hate with all my heart and it doesn’t exist for me. I was so sceptical of the movie, and JKR announced that there were going to be 5 movies, so I was kind of mad. But still liked the movie.

3.) NEWT WAS AWESOME AS WELL AS THE NIFFLERThe Niffler was honestly the star of the movie! And Newt was adorable! HE WAS JUST AWESOME and he loved and cared for all of his creatures, which was so freaking heartwarming ❀

4.) THE EFFECTS WERE COOLThe beasts and everything was done amazingly, if I have to judge visually ignoring all the other things, it was a great movie!

Unfortunately, that’s all I liked. still give it 3 stars, but onto the dislikes!

1.) THERE WERE TOO MANY PLOTS GOING ON– I mean, stop, will ya? We had bringing the creatures who had escaped back, then Grindelwald, the attacks, then the Obscrius, Credence, JUST NOPE. Stick to one or two things, please!!

2.) TBH, I WAS BORED– I mean there were things going on, but I had no interest. Again, I lose interest or attention in a short time, so that didn’t help. ALAS.

3.) I ONLY LIKED NEWT AND THE NIFFLER– I thought Tina was a paper plate character and hated her. she had no dynamics WHATSOEVER LIKE WHAT.Β  I kinda liked Queenie and Jacob but still. Everyone seems to love Credence, but what is new about him? He is just another tortured soul character! #weneednewcharacters

4.) WHY ISN’T JKR WRITING MORE BOOKSΒ  OTHER THAN MOVIES AND TRASH LIKE CURSED CHILD– For the sake of everyone, I won’t say anything about the Cursed Child, but I don’t need a movie. I have to admit that it was great, but I need books that are as awesome as HP. this world has so much potential! I need more stuff Jo!

Um I still liked the movie despite my rant, and can’t wait to see the next one πŸ™‚

tell-meHave you watched the movie? What were your thoughts? I would love to hear them πŸ™‚

52 thoughts on “FANTASTIC BEASTS-MOVIE AND SCREENPLAY REVIEW, OH AND ANOTHER BOOK HAUL… I HAVE A PROBLEM

  1. Nice haul. Nothing better than a stack of books… πŸ™‚ and you seem to be Sarah Maas enabled now.

    Glad you liked the movie overall in spite of some issues- it does sound kinda good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! NOW I HAVE TO BE ON A BOOK BUYING BAN UNTIL MARCH! And as for SJM, I want to read her books again with a fresh mind despite all my issues :/
      WHAT? You haven’t watched it still? WHO ARE YOU :p

      Like

      1. I know, right? I’m almost ashamed to admit it. Don’t even ask me how many HP books I’ve read because I will LIE. Ha ha just kidding… but yeah. I’m a newb.

        Like

  2. OMG, what an amazing book haul! Hope you’ll enjoy all of these!
    And great review! I did really like the movie, but I do understand your points. Tina was not that great of a character and more books would be so much better than just more movies! I did like Credence though, but that could also just be because I love the actor that played him so I’m probably biased about that πŸ™‚ But YES to Newt and the Niffler, they were definitely the highlights ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lindsey! I hope so too….. ahem!
      Thanks again πŸ™‚ And I never really thought anyone would get what I was talking about, but I am glad! Tina was so flat! UGH I despise her. I loved the acting, but not really Credence :/ THE NIFFLER WAS THE BEST ❀

      Like

  3. I still so want to watch Fantastic Beasts… I hope I enjoy it πŸ˜• At least I won’t be going into it with huge expectations.

    What most excites me is the awesome book haul! I am thrilled to see all the SJM books and I’m so happy you’re giving them another shot. Eep! I’m on the lookout for your reviews!

    Very cool post and beautiful pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely review Prabhleen! We haven’t watched Fantastic beasts all because The Cursed Child was a disappointing play, to put it mildly. Ahhh, we love the Inferno Devices so much – more than the original series! It sounds like you had so much fun at the fair ❀
    ~ PendragonsΒ 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Danke schΓΆn girls! Cursed child was just awful. Don’t even get me started on what happened with the trolley witch like wtf was that! And the fair was amazing! Everyone should come here it was fantastico! I wanted to go to another hall, but alas my legs and my parents didn’t cooperateπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Like

  5. THE RAVEN KING! I just bought it as well and I can’t WAIT to read it. That series is magical and unique and oh so beautiful, it’s one of my favorites I think. I am SO glad you bought it as well haha πŸ˜€
    I agree with you about your review of the movie, I just loved the niffler more than anyone else, which does say something about the movie, I guess? Haha. I agreed that it was great to get back into this world though, I missed it so much and it made me feel SO nostalgic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me I’ll have to read the other books in the series first lol and they didn’t have the other ones at the fair since I wanted to get the full series in hardback, but until next time. πŸ˜›
      The Niffler was the best EVERYONE HAS TO AGREE. I didn’t really miss the wizarding world since I never read the books as a kid, but still it was nice πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, but I can tell you right now that you got some badassery in that book haul and this is the opposite of a problem! In truth, Fantastic Beasts was pretty well rated here in the US, but I’m not as psyched to see it as some. I didn’t even go to the theatre. Still, I should probably see it at some point. Darn…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great review πŸ˜€ I am planning to write fantastic beasts review as well but I procastinate and now I had a lot works T_T Btw, I have read The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella. It is my favorite but I love I’ve got Your Number better. Happy reading Prabhleen πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Does it count if J.K. Rowling didn’t write the Cursed Child? Although to be completely honest, I had a copy but I sold it without even reading it. There were so many people complaining about it, and I really didn’t want to damage the mental image I have of my characters! I want to see Harry as a sweet saviour, not a terrible parent. I considered reading it for Scorpius, but . . . My childhood memories can’t be risked for only one character. I’m sorry!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG this is like the most fantastic decision of EVER. When Cursed Child came out, I bought the ebook ASAP when I had time and read well past midnight. Needless to say, I wasted that time and could have slept lol. Scorpius was cool, but ONE CHARACTER CANNOT FIX EVERYTHING. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m not a big movie person, but I’ve heard great things about this one and just looking at the visuals in the previews makes me want to see it. I’m also kind of considering reading the screenplay. It does sound like there was a lot going on with the plots though. But I agree, I’d like more actual books! Like, had this been a book instead of just a movie and screenplay, I’d have been all over it lol.

    Enjoy all your new books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! *high fives* I watch a lot of Hindi movies, but I don’t think I can review them lol. I just watch them for mindless enjoyment. The screenplay is beautiful. if you don’t watch the movie, you have to at least read it!!!!!
      And thanks πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. OMG HOW MANY BOOKS DO YOU BUY I AM JEALOUS. Although I already had a lot of them but STILL????? I need to buy the Clockwork Angels Series.
    ALSO. Um Fantastic Beasts was okay. Like, I felt like I was glad I had watched it but I wouldn’t have died without it if NEWT SCAMANDER AKA EDDIE REDMAYNE WASN’T A GOD SENT TO EARTH TO GRACE US WITH HIS PRESENCE. A shame there was no singing though. And I feel like the Thunderbird doesn’t get enough attention?? LIKE…IT’S AWESOME`??????

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH PLEASE. THEY AREN’T MUCH AT ALL considering the fact that I but books only 4 or 5 times a year. AHEM I WON’T EXPOSE MYSELF FURTHER. πŸ˜„
      Eddie Redmayne was seriously so awesome like YAS. Newt and the Niffler were literally the 2 people I cared for. Yeah the Thunderbird was so cool too! IT SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN MORE SCREENTIME I HAVE TO AGREE.
      Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I really hope you enjoy Sarah J Mass – I love her books, especially the Court of Thorns and Roses Series. And I cant wait to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them – really glad to see you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess… Unfortunately for everyone I gave ACOTAR 1 star, but ACOMAF is looking kinda better. I DUNNO since I have stopped reading until my exams, so yeah! You should really watch it, I can’t wait to see your views on stuff πŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by!!

      Like

  12. HEY AGAIN. Soooooo I sort of nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger award on my blog???????? OOPS haha. Well, you can see it in my latest post with the questions that you are under all circumstances required to answer WITHOUT DELAY. Just kidding. YOU DON’T HAVE TO DO IT IF YOU DON’T WANT TO. haha. ANYWAYS THAT’S ALL.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I haven’t seen the movie but I kinda want to… mainly for the mythological beasts. I have to admit that appeals to me. I’m not an HP expert so I’ll go in pretty uninformed (a Muggle?) if I do go. lol

    Awesome haul, the Raven Boys are supposed to be all kinds of awesome…

    Like

    1. I am not saying that you shouldn’t see it…. You definitely should since in the end it is your decision after all πŸ™‚
      BUT THE RAVEN CYCLE IS WONDERFUL SO MANY LITERAL FEELS ASDFGHJK ADAM IS BAE. (Intense fangirling mode on XD)

      Like

  14. I did love Fantastic Beasts [the movie]. I love to see the wizardry world in the US. I WANT MORE! I want a movie about the American School! πŸ™‚ I AM SO SUPER JEALOUS OF YOUR NEW HAUL!!! I haven’t gone to a book fair in like forever. Enjoy them Prabhleen!

    Like

    1. Oh I am glad you did! and I am so excited about the next films plus Ilvermony! And don’t be jealous lolol I don’t really buy books that frequently, it just always happens in January because of the fair! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. WOW awesome book haul! You are going to be busy for a while. lol! I LOVE Harry Potter, but I still haven’t read or seen Fantastic Beasts. I really really want to but haven’t found the time yet. I will have to wait until it’s out so I can just buy it. lol!

    Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

