NO JUDGING- READ WHAT YOU LIKE AND WHAT YOU WANT TO!!

image1-13

Hey Guys! I think this is my second discussion post ever? I really don’t do those much… The first one was when I had just started blogging, so it isn’t that good hehe but still.

So reading is the good part. But then comes the horrible stuff which is judging. First of all we’ll look at the type of creatures who can judge you.

image1-12

1.) Your frens-

I am not making stuff up, I will give you REAL EXAMPLES THAT HAVE HAPPENED TO ME. So I live in a society, and I went down to the park to read since the weather was nice and there were no shouting obnoxious kids nearby to disturb me. Looks like nothing could go wrong, right? Haha whelp you are WRONG. I was reading ACOTAR, now on the back it is clearly written in crisp black font, “CONTAINS MATURE CONTENT. NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNGER READERS.” I read about for half an hour, then my stomach starts rumbling since gosh DANGIT I forgot to bring chocolate so I start to go back when one of my friendsΒ  suddenly appears out of nowhere and takes the book literally OUT OF MY FRIGGING HAND which definitely pissed me off to no end. Ummm in the end she saw the mature content part, gave me a nasty look and ran away. SEE THIS?? WTF?

jghgjk

2.) Your pet-

stop reading that book with the funny cover master, and GIMME FOOD.

3.) Your parents-

My dad thinks that only classics count as reading, but oh well that’s not true. I won’t say that I am a rebel child and I downright refuse to read those things. Believe me- I’ve tried. But I can’t read classics! My head starts hurting, then I think I am worthless then I get anxiety which leads to me overthinking about school and life in general, which is totally not a good thing. I know! I just can’t help it maybe I will try again, who knows really. And my mother is on a totally different side- she thinks that all reading is a sheer waste of time. I CANNOT HELP THIS.

4.)All the other people of the universe or your internet frens too-

the other frens are the Interweb ones, who you haven’t met. I am not saying that all people here judge me and that I am suffering from their wrath. NOPES. But. Someone messaged me on GR that my reading tastes were shitty, plus I should understand real reading and literature by reading classics since they couldn’t find any on my Goodreads account. I mean, wtf? It’s my life, I can read what I like!

hygyfhiuyho

image2-1

Why it’s bad-

It makes a person mad and sad.(WELL THAT RHYMES, OH YES GO ME.) you know how annoyed one must become when they come home after a bad day at office or school or whatever, and this happens. You just make the person you are questioning and JUDGING question themselves, which is bad. Reeeallly bad, I tell ya.

gfjk

image1-12

why you shouldn’t do it-

1.) It’s a free world-

I was beginning to write that India is a free country, but then the mistake was realised and all was well. This is what Civics and political studies do to you, am I right?? Anyways, we all have rights given in various constitutions of the world. People are free to do what they want and what they like. You should NEVER EVER question anyone or their choices.

2.) It’s their damned life-

First of all, I would like to say that the readers aren’t wrong here. IT IS YOU who has made the mistake by interfering in their life. They can do WHATEVER they want and you shouldn’t have any problem with it unless it is affecting you. And I am not saying the thing that they rated a book you rated highly or a book you loved lowly. I am talking about real problems. WHICH AFFECT YOU AND YOUR HUMAN RIGHTS!!

I would just like to say that these things really drive me mad.

image2-1

What you can do to shut them up-

Just confront them and SAY TO THEIR FACE that you can do whatever you want and the stuff I mentioned above and they will shut up! I know from personal experience! (Shhhh just don’t talk like this to your parents….. Who knows how long you’ll be grounded for)

In the end, this is INDEED a type of bullying and we should stop it. Stay cool and calm, and just say the things you want to their face!

image1-12

tell-me

Tell me- has something like this happened to you? What are your opinions on this topic? I would love to know!!!

53 thoughts on “NO JUDGING- READ WHAT YOU LIKE AND WHAT YOU WANT TO!!

  1. My parents think I read too much OMG.But I just tell them that I love reading and my friends understand that I am a major fangirl about books.They know what happens when they disturb me while reading,haha πŸ™‚ But I do know some people judge though.And I just can’t understand them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, seriously my parents just think the same too! My friends totally judge me for being a fangirl too, and when I started to talk about all of my fictional crushes, they started laughing! it hurts so much omg and I can’t understand why people do this. :/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wait- someone actually message you on Goodreads like that? Wow… I hope they were kidding lol?!? And I can’t read classics… maybe some, but most are boring. There I said it. πŸ™‚ What is it with pets too, like cats headbutting our books like they need attention or something? Go away animal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They did! And they were definitely not kidding since their tone was pretty serious and angry lol! Classics are so boring, I have to agree. Plus I hate Jane Austen. #sorrynotsorry PETS ARE AWFUL MY COUSIN’S CAT SITS MORE ON ME THAN ON HER.

      Like

  3. Who in their right mind goes out of their way to send a message to a random person just to tell them they disagree with their taste in books???! That person just needs to get a life, go read their books and let everyone else read theirs. But anyway, yes, I completely agree that everyone can read whatever they like and shouldn’t be judged for it! I tend to just not pay any attention to people who are rude or try to argue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The judgers and haters…. the thing is, I don’t even have time to say nice things, but I can’t get over the fact that some people are literally free all day to send HATE!
      What you do is a great thing too!

      Like

  4. Oh yes for sure I’ve been judged for what I read! Actually, sadly enough….I get judged for what I read by bookworms in the online book community. Isn’t that dumb?!? Of ALL PEOPLE other bookworms should understand and let people read what they want!!! And I’ve also been judged by my IRL friends as a younger teen. I would hide how much I read because they didn’t like reading. *facepalm* πŸ™ˆπŸ™Š I totally regret doing that now! I think it’s very important to let people read what they want!! Don’t judge!! Let people be happy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have had such incidences myself! Out of everyone, we expect bookworms to agree with us, but this is so sad. Literally.
      My IRL friends judge me everytime, to speak the truth. And did that happen to you! I am sorry!
      STOP JUDGING PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

      Like

  5. I’ve definitely been judged, not only for what I read but for how much I read. People in my family act really funny when I say I read young adult, like my reading skill isn’t up to adult standard to them. I can read whatever I want, I WANT TO READ YA! Leave me be. I don’t really have any in real life friends that read like me and I think it seems really overboard to them. But I love it so I don’t care, reading is my favourite thing in the world and I don’t really care if people judge me for what I read at this point! Great post ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaand we cannot forget how many articles are published every year saying that YA is trash, adults shouldn’t read it, etc etc. I am a teen, (I am 16) so I haven’t got any comments for that yet, but I know for sure I will soon when I become an adult. 😦 Thank you so much!

      Like

  6. Wonderful post GURL!!! My parents think I ‘waste’ too much time on books and blogging! GAAAHH!! And yes, so annoying when people judge you based on your bookish choices? And also writing! A so called ex- friend of mine once read something I’d written and told me ,”You have good flair for writing but why do you write this YA fantasy crap? write something of substance” Me being the hot headed sarcastic bitch I can be replied saying “And where would I put it? somewhere with your good for nothing ass?” Not so proud of it but man I was pissed! Nowadays I just ignore these people or reply with even more sarcasm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Also about what you asked in my post? You know how me, Di and Amy do the blog squad post? Coming Friday there will be special posts where we each will explain how to request books from publishers πŸ™‚ I’ll be writing a detailed post of the process and answer FAQs πŸ™‚ And it’s definitely not irritating Prabhleen <33 If you could just wait till Friday, I'll explain everything as efficiently as I can πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yay! Friday’s tomorrow! The post will be up by 10 πŸ™‚ I hope it’s helpful for you ❀ And also I replied to your questions at my blog ..just saying so you could check it out ❀

        And yes, they actually said that! Worst part? I didn't invite this person to read what I wrote. See, I always carry my writing notebook with me and all my writing notebooks are cute and really pretty ( I have an obsession with cute notebooks). This person saw it lying on my desk and picked it up WITHOUT ASKING ME and went through it… It was back in school and it's been 4 years but I still don't like that girl :/

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I feel like the rest of the world (who aren’t voracious fiction readers) think that “reading” only qualifies if you’re reading the classics (or the type of books that are assigned reading in school)… which is stupid. I hate feeling like I should hide the cover of the adult romance novels I like to read – or that I should only read adult romance novels on my Kindle – but I hate being judged! YA books too, not just adult romance. But whatever. I love YA. I love adult romance. Too bad if other people don’t! Reading in general is such a powerful thing, and more people should try it. πŸ˜€

    Great post, Prabhleen! Have a lovely weekend. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can never read classics. This is a known fact. I will start one and still be on the same page after an hour. I really want to read and enjoy them, I really do! But…. well.
      YA is great! NA is great! Romance is great! People have no business to judge other people. Tbh, I have been in your place. I never bring books to school if they have a cover which is inappropriate according to my friends because I have enough shit in my life already to deal with their judging too.

      Like

  8. Oh dear Prabhleen!!! First of all, judgy friends are THE WORST!!! HOW DARE THEY.

    You would think that parents would just be happy that you are doing something productive and using your brain instead of just watching TV or playing video games, right????

    OOOOhhh, I can’t believe you got trolled like that on GR! That’s AWFUL!!!!!!!

    I’m sorry it’s happened this way. 😦

    I agree – it’s a free world and we can all read whatever we like. If you want to read Old McDonald 100 million gazillion times (that might be my 3yo talking… ) then that is your prerogative (and a little bit mine since I have to read it to her! o_O) and if you want to think you’re all great and sophisticated and reading classics – that’s fine too! But read what you enjoy and let others do the same. Personally I like a lot of different genres but I’ll always pick up the one that I WANT to read and not one that I feel pressured to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! My brother basically plays Minecraft and Dungeons of Dragons all day, every day, but as long as he gets good marks, my parents don’t say anything. Whereas if I read in my free time, they will say that I should study instead of reading. :/
      I also can’t believe that either! Like why would someone even bother with me, is what I ask!
      Old McDonald, ahem yes Di read it as much as you want! I won’t judge you or your kiddo πŸ˜„
      and I totally agree with all the other things you say! Read what you like, and what you want πŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by ❀

      Like

  9. I judge and am judged… there I said it. That said, I don’t go up to a person and argue why they shouldn’t be reading something, but I do judge. It stems in part from the fact that I grew up having classics shoved down my throat in school, with no real time to read anything else, and was in an environment where it was literature or bust. I never embraced popular fiction more than the first time I found there were Star Trek books. I think in general poplar fiction gets a bad rep here in Australia and it’s unwarranted. And annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I kind of get what you are trying to say. it is horrible nonetheless to judge someone, but if you say that to their face, it just gets a whole new level of nasty.
      in India too, popular books like romance and YA, get a bad rep, so I can understand that too.

      Like

  10. A friend visited over the holiday and made a snide comment about I see romantic novels are still popular based on your bookshelf. Now, the only shelves he had privy to were the ones in my living room, and 95% of it was urban fantasy, thrillers, and horror. So I calmly laughed and replied, well someone obviously doesn’t read since they cannot discern romance from other genres and walked away..LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I completely agree Prabhleen! It’s horrible that people even feel the need to interfere with other people’s lifes and interests to judge them. Everyone should be free to read whatever it is they want. I don’t like when people look down on people because they feel like their reading taste isn’t ‘advanced’ enough. Book snobs, ugh! And I totally understand about the classics, I had to read them in high school, but only found very few I actually liked… Now I’ll read what I want, whether it’s adult or YA, fantasy or romance, I just read whatever I’m in the mood for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! I don’t even know how these people have the time to do this shit. I think most of the people who read romance get looked upon as if there tastes are ‘lower’ than that person, which is totally horrible.
      Yes! Read what you want to, and let others read what they want to!!!

      Like

  12. I’m pretty sure I left a comment here!! WHERE DID MY COMMENT GOOOOOO??? Whoever stole my comment… You comment thief wait until I get my hands on you! ;-P

    I don’t think I have ever being judged or at least I haven’t noticed which is like super possible since I’m navigating life with half brain here and half in the clouds. BUT I don’t have any bookworms friends in real life so my family and friends just think I’m this oddity that happens to be in their lives always carrying a book around all the time and they think that’s odd enough so they don’t even bother to look at what I’m reading LOL
    Love this post!
    YES PEOPLE OUT THERE MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS OK???!!!
    FREEDOM OF READING FOR ALL!
    HUMPH!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never got your comment! Did you post it? πŸ™‚
      That’s cool you’ve never noticed if you got judged or not! I mean, these comments are worthless shit, but they still affect us. the main thing is to ignore the haters. And my friends and family are also like that, they think I am some weirdo lol so I can totally agree!
      Thank you so much Dragonfly!
      Have a great day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Maybe read The Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia and inform everyone that they are classics? People seem to have a very narrow definition of classics that seems to mean the 19th century mostly, but there are classics from every time period and genre. Arguably Harry Potter is a modern classic. So, you are probably reading/have read classics before! Not that it matters if you do or don’t. But perhaps it would stop some people from judging if you aren’t reading Charles Dickens all day?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The thing is, it’s nobody business what I like to read and enjoy. Yeah sure, these are kind of modern classics, but why should I read them so that the people don’t judge me? I mean, it’s their fault only since JUDGING IS BAD. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Oh, I know it’s not their business! I just thought it could be useful to explain to people that classics encompasses a broader range of books than they seem willing to admit. Why no love for different genres? 😦 But you are right. There’s nothing wrong with reading what you want! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Couldn’t agree more! It’s especially bizarre when people judge what you read at work…especially when you’re a librarian. Like…wut. Y’all, we’re not supposed to judge reading material at all! Just because I like to read romance novels sometimes doesn’t mean I’m “dumb” or anything, ya know? So strange. At least my pets don’t judge me though! πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I read a wide rang of books, classics included but only review young adult and middle grade. That’s where my passions lie. But being an older and not even close to being a teen reader anymore, we always face judgement too so I completely know how frustrating it is. When we walk into bookshops, people assume we’re not the ones reading it. Lots of online articles telling us we’re too old to read YA. It’s just another form of being policed really. Bookworms are united and I say, read whatever makes us happy! Brilliant discussion ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know about getting judged for being older since one, I am still a teenager, and two- I look two or three years younger than I am, so I can’t really agree with you there πŸ™‚
      But I just get so angry when articles are published saying YA is not real lit, I mean, it is so disheartening to us, REALISE how bad an author would feel since it is THEIR work.
      Thank you, Kelly πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. THIS, THIS, THIS! It’s your choice what you read and people shouldn’t judge you based on what you read. People have different tastes and interests (that’s what makes reviewing and blogging so much fun) and if judging people based on their interests is completely unfair. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous discussion! <2

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Ugh! Book snobbery! Annoys me like hell.

    The only time I’d step in is a) if there’s something potentially problematic in the book that the reader might not know about, then I’d *warn* them rather than telling them to not read it b) the person is actively promoting and saying that a problematic book is the best book ever, then I’d ask them to tone it down, or acknowledge that other people have problems with the representation in it (problematic-ness is kind of big deal bookish-community-wise atm,) or c) you asked! (Cos if you ask, I’m gonna give you my opinion!)

    But people who are like: that genre is trash! No. Just no. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! Me too.
      I do that too, but that isn’t considered as judging! you are giving your own free opinion and warning the reader about some sensitive topics, and it is fine! It is encouraged even πŸ™‚
      well we can’t really help those people, can we?

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Somebody messaged you on Goodreads just to complain about the lack of classics on your shelf?!? Jesus Christ. Did they seriously scroll through your whole shelf just so they could have a go at you?!?
    At the end of the day, reading is a form of entertainment. We should all read what makes us happy. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Oh my god are you serious?? Someone on GR messaged you that WTF?? You can read whatever you want, as long as it has letters it counts as reading. And I know middle-grade fiction that are ten times deeper than some classics. The real shallow and ‘shitty’ readers are those that marginalize themselves to only a specific “type” of books just because it makes them, what, feel like ‘superior’ readers? It’s ridiculous. Besides, don’t they realize that today’s new releases could be tomorrow’s new classics? Why wouldn’t they want to be a part of that? We all read for different reasons, most times I want to dwelve into a new world, and therefore read more fantasy/sci-fi, while my mum mostly wants a break and therefore reads contemporary. My sister, who’s a big Star Wars-nerd plus horse nerd, reads only SW -and horse books. It doesn’t matter what you read, as long as you love it. Otherwise you’ve missed the whole point of reading.

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, unfortunately I am ;/
      I second what you say! Plus you know what, Harry Potter is definitely going to become a classic (I know you haven’t read that but still) Some people also exist which think that HP and PJ is for kids. No. They aren’t. The thing which pisses me off the most is the ‘age groups’ made. I just can’t anymore.
      Thanks Ella!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

