BOOK REVIEWS! THE DREAM THIEVES AND HEARTLESS

minirvsedit

Hey Guys! Hope you are having a great day πŸ™‚

Today I will be reviewing Heartless and The Dream Thieves, plus I have a lot of things to tell, so we must not waste our time AHEM.

First, I am going to tell you some more lifey things! Three of my exams have finished which are Math, English and Social Studies. Tomorrow is my Science, then Saturday is Hindi, after that next Wednesday is General Knowledge.

THEN FREEEDOM.

I just thought to tell you people πŸ™‚

I will be super active and will post a lot after my exams get over, I have written drafts for like 4 posts? Nothing can go wrong.

Also, I am currently Buddy Reading The Song Of Achilles, I am on Chapter 12, and I cried so hard last night (for like an hour straight), you couldn’t even have heard me sobbing. Yup. When I cry that hard, you cannot even hear me. Good work done Madeline Miller. I salute this woman.

Many mini reviews like this are going to come your way since I have got lot of ARCs, and I can’t review them all individually SINCE THERE ARE SO MANY UGH.

On another note, two months ago I sent a Netgalley request for Geekerella. My request was neither approved, nor declined, that is it was pending. Yesterday I get an email saying that it has been approved AND YOU COULD HEAR MY SCREAMING FROM HUNDRED MILES AWAY. I even scared my brother who was sleeping and he fell off the bed. Lol.

Ooookay,,, enough of me rambling, let’s get on to the review for The Dream Thieves!

image10
ignore that the book is the Raven King lol I had an ebook, spare me pls

I am going to hardcore gush about this right now. I am totally in love with this series UGH I LOVE IT SO MUCH.

sakura card captors

I had read this in January I think? Plus it is the only book I have given five stars this year. It has been a horrible reading year, but let’s hope that The Song of Achilles remains good πŸ™‚

things-i-liked

1.) Ronan oh my god oh yes. This book is like technically his book, you know? Although I think I am the unpopular opinion here since I liked the first one better πŸ™‚

I absolutely love his character. No, he is not your average knight in shining armour, butΒ I love him so so much! My favourite Raven boy, huh you wanna know? I CANNOT CHOOSE. it was Gansey in last book, now hmmmm maybe a tie between Adam and Ronan. I really cannot choose, sorry! Which brings me to-

2.) Adam my baby. He has gone through so much emotional stuff in these books, my soul literally weeps for him. (No pun intended. XD) PLUS WHY CANNOT HE APPRECIATE GANSEY PLEASE AND THANK YOU SPARE MY BABIES THIS BOOK CAUSED SO MUCH EMOTIONAL TORTURE TO ME UGHHHH.

3.) Pynch. I ship it. You can already see some stuff going on between these two. Oh yes. I cannot wait for The Raven King. *cackles*

plus I would like to leave you to this GIF

shiphard.gif4.) The pacing was absolutely wonderful for this story. Everything flowed effortlessly in the end, and I loved every second of this book.

5.) Maggie has a way with words, I tell you. Her writing is the absolute best, and I envy her writing skills. Again, it was perfect for this story.

6.) The characters are flawed, but wonderful. They are real. They are in front of you. Breathing, eating, sleeping. You want to touch them to see if they are real, but they blend into fictional then. I could literally see them in front of me, and this book. Oh this book. love it.

things-i-did-not-like

image8
sorry another shot of TRC sheesh

I felt that Blue was more annoying to me in this installment. I absolutely hated how she treated Adam. if this continues on, I may hate her. Who knows.

I also do not like The Grey Man and/or his romance with Maura. I just cannot bring myself to ship them, sorry not sorry.

Overall, this series is absolutely amazing, and I am so glad I read these books. I absolutely cannot wait to read the next one gahhhh.

My rating- Five out of Five stars. IT WAS THAT GOOD.

image4

lol

jirtgjiotr

jgchhkl

OhΒ I designed some graphics! Feel free to use them PERSONALLY, I will cry if I find them anywhere else. If you wish to share them, share this post instead and/or you can share it on any other social platforms πŸ™‚

image1

image2

Review number 2

Heartless. Aka Disappointment galore.Β I gave this book 2 stars,Β I absolutely hated it, it was the reasonΒ I am in a horrible slump which was getting better in December, but no,Β I had to start it on New Year’s itself.Β I am horrible. this book is horrible. It took me well over two months to read it, andΒ I am the person who can read a book in a day. Yup,Β I am that fast. I totally DO NOT recommend this book. Do yourself a favour and please read the Lunar Chronicles instead. Tbh,Β I am not even excited for Marissa Meyer’s new book anymore.

image6

things-i-liked

Well, it had food. oh and nice world building. That’s all. That’s allΒ I liked. it starts and ends here.

smack tennies.gif

image7

things-i-did-not-like

Cath had no personality whatsoever. She was a whiny little girl who was a one dimensional character and she had no goals or hobbies except for baking! WUT IS THIS. Also, the romance was insta-love, the book was boring as shit, the climax scenes were in the last 60 pages, the ending was horrible and totally not done well,Β I predicted who the Jabberwock was, andΒ I don’t even want to write anything else now. I am done with this shit.

I DID NOT LIKE THIS BOOK.

Rating- two out of five stars

Overall thoughts- a no from me pls

image5

ipp[

oh but there are graphics for this and Nevernight too! Feel free TO USE THEM PERSONALLY.

image3

image4

tell-me

Sooo tell me- have you read any of these books? What were your opinions on them?

See you later people πŸ™‚

44 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEWS! THE DREAM THIEVES AND HEARTLESS

  1. First of all, yay for your exams almost being over!
    Secondly, aaaaah The Song of Achilles! I loved it so much so I’m happy you’re reading it but also sorry because I totally understand about the sobbing.
    Also so happy you loved The Dream Thieves! I completely agree that the writing is gorgeous and the characters feel so real and who can even pick a favorite Raven Boy and OMG Pynch ❀
    Sorry you didn't enjoy Heartless! It's been one of my most anticipated reads and I still want to read it but I've been seeing a lot of negative reviews so now I'm scared. Maybe I should just re-read The Lunar Chronicles πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess,, I am so happy!
      The main crisis is picking a Raven Boy. Like nope?? What is this question even. AND PYNCH MAKES ME DROWN IN ALLLL THE FEELS.
      You still haven’t read it? Considering the fact that you read soo fast and you have read most of the recent releases? (I am not jealous)
      By no means you should not read it! Maybe give it a shot? Maybe you will like it better than I did? Plus rereading is always sooo fun, I won’t stop you <33

      Like

  2. Glad to hear your exams are almost over – probably over by the time I write this, so YAY πŸ˜€ I hope it went well πŸ™‚
    I’m really happy you loved The Dream Thieves, it was SUCH A GORGEOUS BOOK, I love it so much, and want to hug all of the characters ahah. Hope you’ll enjoy the rest of the series just as much πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES. I completely agree about Heartless. It wasn’t a bad book, but I suppose I just expected more from it considering it was written by Marissa Meyer. It’s a shame because the premise was fantastic. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry to hear that you really didn’t like Heartless. That’s a huge bummer because I bought the book but haven’t had the chance to read it yet. I’m still working my way through The Lunar Chronicles. I’ve read Cinder and Scarlet so far but haven’t gotten to pick up Cress. I loved her writing so I assumed I would like Heartless and bought it almost right away. Aaaand if I’m being honest, I loved the cover. lol! Oh well, I’ll still read it and hope for the best.. Great reviews! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Lunar Chronicles are AWESOME! Hope you enjoy Heartess more than I did Julie if you read it! I don’t like this cover (it looks like a corny romance novel lol) But the UK white one and the US one is so gorgeous!
      Thanks, have a great week, you too πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Yes, I know it was a Meyer book by the writing, but not much from the story unfortunately :/ The characters and the romance was so unlike from TLC! And it always is a bit tough when you have a published material like this before hand, I have to agree.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay for exams coming to an end!!!!

    Also YAY FOR GEEKARELLA! That’s awesome!

    I’m going to start reading more of these series I need to read soon… One day!

    I’m so sad you didn’t like Heartless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😦 😦 I LOVED IT! That’s the thing about reading though – it’s so subjective and we all have to try the books or we’ll never know!

    Thanks for the mini reviews and life update! I’m looking forward to more soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess I know right I am so happy! JUST TWO EXAMS LEFT NOW OH YES.
      I was so freaked out when my request was approved lol
      I wanted to like Heartless so bad, but it wasn’t for me. I can totally see why other people loved it, but it wasn’t my type :/
      You’re welcome!
      Hopefully I will also get to post more soon πŸ˜„

      Like

  6. Ooh, I can’t wait to read Song of The Achilles, I’ve heard how emotionally heartbreaking it is. I didn’t mind Heartless, being a fan of Alice in Wonderland but I must admit, I had expected a little more too. I haven’t been able to get into The Raven Boys series, I tried reading book one but ended up putting it down at the time. I’ll have to give it another go seeing how much you’ve enjoyed them. Fabulous reviews! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I hope you get to read it soon, it is honestly sooo good.
      I just feel I didn’t get what I was expecting for. I wanted it to be as awesome as her other series, but nooope.
      DROP EVERYTHING AND READ THE RAVEN BOYS NOW.
      Thank you Kelly <33

      Like

  7. Yay! So happy for you that your exams are nearly over! Mine are 2-3 months away and I’m already freaking out. πŸ˜„

    I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy Heartless! I’ve read a lot of negative reviews for it, so my expectations aren’t as high as they were. I loved Cinder by her though, so maybe I’ll like Heartless? Hopefully. ;D

    That’s so exciting that you accepted to review Geekerella! I got sent it to review a few weeks back and I am SO EXCITED to read it. I hope you love it! Nothing beats that feeling of getting accepted to review a book you’ve been dying to read. πŸ˜›

    Also, love your graphics!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the freak out is just normal and happens to everyone! Hope you do well πŸ˜‰
      The reason I had no expectations was the negative reviews :/ But I hope you do read it and enjoy it more than I did! Well no can match the Lunar Chronicles, so hey πŸ˜„
      Yesss! Hope we both enjoy Geekerella! I AM SO EXCITED FOR IT EEP.

      Thank you Kyra ❀

      Like

  8. Yay for exams being over!
    That’s too bad Heartless didn’t work out for you! I enjoyed it but agree that it was disappointing, definitely didn’t meet expectations. I still have the Raven Boys on my TBR, eep!
    Great reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. yay to finish the exams! DOUBLE YAY to be more active in the blogosphere! We can’t get enough of you babe. πŸ˜‰ AND WHY WHY WHY WHY ARE YOU READING THE RAVEN BOYS??? I can’t just can’t can’t with the writing. OMG. BUT I graciously forgive you because you are reading my beloved MAYER πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you! Whaaaat???? You don’t like her writing? Whaaaat??? Anyways, it’s okay, I forgive you too.
      PLEASE. Meyer is one of my all time favourite authors, so I had to read this book!

      Like

      1. Sooooo After I comment on your wonderful oh so wonderful book sacrifice tag I go check the next post just to make sure I didn’t miss it.. AND WHAT DO I FIND???
        ugh Raven Boys. Can I borrow it please? There is a book sacrifice tag going around πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Love that cover of Heartless! And yay for more blogging time (and Geekerella lol). Bummer though that Heartless wasn’t better… but hey Blue and the gang were! I’m so curious about those, I keep telling myself at some point I’m going to read stiefvater and see what all the fuss is about. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately… I hate that cover, but still I am glad you like it XD!
      You have to read Stiefvater omg! This is her best work in my opinion. The Shiver trilogy was awful, just another clichΓ© YA series, and The Scorpio Races was good but not good enough. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS SERIES.

      Like

  11. YAY FOR LOVING ANYTHING RAVEN BOYS!! ❀ Double yay for finishing exams!! πŸ˜€ So sorry about Heartless though. I've been hearing a lot similar stuff about the book… Also, I think this particular cover is awful :/ I really love the red and black cover which sadly isn't available here 😦
    And let's cry over The Song of Achilles together!!

    Like

    1. Hahhaha I am glad too! The thing is, I got so overwhelmed by the negative Heartless reviews. lol And that cover omg it is so horrible unghhh
      Oh yes! Let’s have a crying party! (which only Madeline Miller will enjoy)

      Like

    1. YES I HOPE I LOVE IT!
      You definitely should Alyssa! I know that you loved Strange the Dreamer and the Raven Boys is kind of slow for the build up for the other books, so yeah! I think you will love it, then we can gush about the series πŸ™‚
      Have a great week Alyssa! And ermgerd thank you ❀

      Like

  12. So glad to hear your exams are nearly over! I’m excited to hear how much you enjoyed The Dream Thieves because I’m planning to start that series this spring. Your graphics are lovely, btw. Bummer about Heartless. It’s still on my TBR but I have definitely read a lot of mixed reviews on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I stalled out with The Raven Cycle after the first book, because I thought it was a bit too slow. Don’t hate me! *ducks for cover* Most people love The Dream Thieves though and I definitely want more Ronan (he was my fave in book one) so I’ll probably try to read it eventually…especially since I already own a copy. Whoops! πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

