BOOKS I WANT TO READ ASAP!

image5.jpeg

Hey guys! Long time no see right? *coughs* I just don’t know what is happening in my life anymore. My schedule is so hectic all the time and I cannot blog as much as I want to which sucks!

I have to post some ARC reviews and I will do a mini review thingy for that post, but I cannot post it since I am currently reading one of those ARCs which I have to review asap. (lol @ me)

Anyways, today’s post is about some books which I really REALLY WANT to read but *coughs* time…………………………………………………………..

1.) The Hate U Give By Angie Thomas

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

image11

This book has been blowing up like crazy since it first came out, and it has been more than a month, but it still feels like all of my Goodreads friends are reading it! It looks extremely powerful and diverse and I cannot wait. I do hope it will be as good as I expect because everyone is also giving it five stars! 😄

2.) Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe By Benjamin Alire Saenz

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

image1

The author released a new book a month ago and I am not that keen on reading that one, but I want to read this one ASAP. I just read Simon Vs. The Homosapiens Agenda and it WAS FREAKING PHENOMENAL (here’s my Goodreads review!) so I now need another contemporary with a m/m romance and *hopefully* I’ll enjoy this one!

Also, fun story- I told my dad to order this one on Amazon but the hardcover setting on there was on default so I now have a HARDCOVER HAHAHA OH YES. It costed a load of money since it is a hardcover, plus it came from US so the shipping costs. But I am so happy I have a hardcover and it is so pretttttyyyyyyyyyyyy *insert heart eyes here*

3.) Half Bad By Sally Green

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive.

image8

Look I know this series has another m/m relationship, also I think that it has some unique formatting, plus the cover is wonderous and glorious. (I may or may not have bought this ONLY for the cover BWAHAHA)

4.) Carry On By Rainbow Rowell

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

A #1 New York Times-bestseller

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here — it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On – The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.

image2

I will be buddy reading this soon with some Goodreads friends, and I love Fangirl so so much (I have read it 3 times) Although to be honest, I skipped all of the Simon/Baz parts in Carry On since they were distracting me from Cath’s story! Also, Lindsey says it is like  Harry Potter BUT where Draco is in love with Harry SO HECK YES. (okay but so many books on here are LGBT+! Yay!)

5.) Blue Lily, Lily Blue By The Queen

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

The third installment in the all-new series from the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater!

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

image9

I am sure that you must know that Pynch!!! And you will know that this series has consumed me if you have been reading my blog since a long while! I cannot WAIT to finish it and you know you are hopelessly in love with a series when you have only read the first two, but it has made it to one of your All Time Favourite series. I love these books, period. I just cannot wait to finally read this one! (I need more Adam) Here’s my review for The Dream Thieves!

Also here are some more graphics since I am the definition of obsessed

(please use them personally and if you want to share them, just link back to this post pls!)

image6

image7

6.) Trigger Warning By Neil Gaiman

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

Multiple award winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman returns to dazzle, captivate, haunt, and entertain with this third collection of short fiction following Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things–which includes a never-before published American Gods story, “Black Dog,” written exclusively for this volume.

In this new anthology, Neil Gaiman pierces the veil of reality to reveal the enigmatic, shadowy world that lies beneath. Trigger Warning includes previously published pieces of short fiction–stories, verse, and a very special Doctor Who story that was written for the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved series in 2013–as well “Black Dog,” a new tale that revisits the world of American Gods, exclusive to this collection.

Trigger Warning explores the masks we all wear and the people we are beneath them to reveal our vulnerabilities and our truest selves. Here is a rich cornucopia of horror and ghosts stories, science fiction and fairy tales, fabulism and poetry that explore the realm of experience and emotion. In “Adventure Story”–a thematic companion to The Ocean at the End of the Lane–Gaiman ponders death and the way people take their stories with them when they die. His social media experience “A Calendar of Tales” are short takes inspired by replies to fan tweets about the months of the year–stories of pirates and the March winds, an igloo made of books, and a Mother’s Day card that portends disturbances in the universe. Gaiman offers his own ingenious spin on Sherlock Holmes in his award-nominated mystery tale “The Case of Death and Honey”. And “Click-Clack the Rattlebag” explains the creaks and clatter we hear when we’re all alone in the darkness.

A sophisticated writer whose creative genius is unparalleled, Gaiman entrances with his literary alchemy, transporting us deep into the realm of imagination, where the fantastical becomes real and the everyday incandescent. Full of wonder and terror, surprises and amusements, Trigger Warning is a treasury of delights that engage the mind, stir the heart, and shake the soul from one of the most unique and popular literary artists of our day.

image3

This is a library book so I am definitely going to read it this month, but I am so excited since I have never read a book by this author! Short stories are always a miss for me because some are good but some aren’t, but HOPE IS NEVER LOST and I may enjoy this one!

7.) Tales Of Ancient Egypt by Roger Lancelyn Green

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

Features stories that include the great myths – of Amen-Ra, who created all the creatures in the world; of Isis, searching the waters for her dead husband Osiris; of the Bennu Bird and the Book of Thoth. But there are also tales told for pleasure about magic, treasure and adventure – even the first ever Cinderella story.

image10

I am a huge Egypt nerd. I love all this history and this has been sitting on my shelf for more than a year and I feel guilty y’all.

8.) Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Summary-

Wuthering Heights is a wild, passionate story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff, a foundling adopted by Catherine’s father. After Mr Earnshaw’s death, Heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherine’s brother Hindley and wrongly believing that his love for Catherine is not reciprocated, leaves Wuthering Heights, only to return years later as a wealthy and polished man. He proceeds to exact a terrible revenge for his former miseries. The action of the story is chaotic and unremittingly violent, but the accomplished handling of a complex structure, the evocative descriptions of the lonely moorland setting and the poetic grandeur of vision combine to make this unique novel a masterpiece of English literature.

image4

HAHAHAHA. HAHAHAHAHAHA. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I dislike classics. I just can’t read them. But the cover is pretty, Prabhleen is shallow and I *hope* that this classic doesn’t end up as a DNF or as a trashy book for me. Never lose hope guys. Learn from me. *coughs*

image2 (3)

Talk To Me- Have you guys read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Should I read these ASAP? (I already know the answer to this) And you may have noticed, my theme for my bookish photos has changed! Do you like this one or the previous one? Also, do you like my designs for The Raven Cycle stuff? 🙂

47 thoughts on “BOOKS I WANT TO READ ASAP!

  1. Oh I just read Blue Lily Lily Blue and it was really good. Ari& Dante also rocks, although I really should reread it. Carry On is like the cutest thing ever plus SCONES and asaasjjaajkls;adjlkf;a basically. And like you, I really want to read The Hate U Give (Even though the black lives matter movement isn’t really a thing in my life) and Half Bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay Shar now I am even more excited!!!!! Also, excite for Ari and Dante! (this title is huge though)
      I am starting with Carry On today and YESSSSS.
      Same. I have lived in India all my life and so the Black Lives Matter Movement is non-existent for me, but I want to read it since it is #OwnVoices and a diverse and powerful read! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to read Ari and Dante too! I order the paperback and it will get delivered today! Also as I read your post I decided to count the number of books I need to read (only physical book) and the answer is 23!! I HAVE 23 BOOKS ON MY SHELF I NEED TO READ! And I probably have hundreds of ebooks!! AAARRGGHH!! Good luck with your reading Hun <33

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I am still so happy over the hardcover 😄 Bookish sentiments though 😄
      I think I also have over 20 unread physical books but let us not dive into the depths of iBooks and my Kindle please.

      Like

  3. Oooh your photos are so pretty for this post. 😍 AND I’M SUCH A FAN OF THE RAVEN CYCLE I CAN’T EVEN. IT’S SO PERFECT AND BEAUTIFUL AND FJDKSLAD I HOPE YOU ENJOY THE NETX BOOKS!! Also Pynch = ❤ And I really loved Carry On and Ari & Dante too. 😍 So basically this pile is full of intense awesome and I think we bookworms should all work out a way to pause time so we can get some serious reading done. 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh thank you so much! ❤ *sends virtual cake*
      THE RAVEN CYCLE IS AMAZING I CANNOT WAIT TO FINISH IT.
      Pfft.. obviously you have read most of these books on here anyways, you are such a fast a fast reader lol

      Like

  4. Okay I loved Fangirl and then I haven’t picked up another Rainbow Rowell book since (I know – I’m superashamed of myself). So Carry On looks absolutely fantastic. Definitely adding to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been hearing so much about The Hate U Give! It sounds like it is really good. And you know that book on ancient Egypt looks fascinating! Aristotle & Dante looks good and I need to read more Rainbow Rowell.

    Hope you find the time for these!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hehe love the title for this so much!! Aristotle and Dante is so good- I really hope you enjoy it!! Carry On is *frickin amazing*- I really hope you like it! And I hope you like Wuthering Heights anyway- I adore that book (and the cover of that edition is pretty!)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I really want to read The Hate U Give soon as well, it sounds like such a powerful book, and everyone’s talking about it, I am clearly missing out haha 🙂 I am SO impatient for you to read Aristotle and Dante and Blue Lily, Lily Blue. I really enjoyed both, even if I loved more these little raven boys, they’re my favorites! ❤ Happy reading!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. OMG, these include some of my favorite books so I don’t even know where to start! Let’s just flail in chronological order…
    The Hate U Give is on my TBR as well! It sounds so good and diverse and important and I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet either…
    Aristotle and Dante – YES, I LOVED this one so much! Ari and Dante are my precious babies…
    Half Bad – OMG this series broke my heart, but I still loved it so much! It definitely has some unique formatting which may be hit or miss, but the characters are so morally grey and I couldn’t help but fall in love with them (well, Nathan and Gabriel anyway… my other precious babies)
    Carry On – OH YET ANOTHER FAVORITE! Haha, the Harry Potter similarities were strong in this one ❤ I thought the beginning was a bit slow, but Baz was amazing and became one of my favorite characters easily 🙂
    Blue Lily, Lily Blue – Soo good and I have a sudden need to re-read this entire series because I miss the gorgeous writing and I miss me some PYNCH ❤
    I haven't read the others yet (I think I started Wuthering Heights when I was in high school, but I didn't finish it then), but I hope you'll enjoy them all!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will read THUG soon ahaha!
      and I am starting Ari and Dante ASAP after I finish the Red Winter trilogy!
      I am so excited about Carry On, it’s been such a long while since I read a Rainbow Rowell.
      honestly, I don’t even know why I am procrastinating BLLB. 😦
      Thank you Lindsey!

      Like

  9. You should pick up the hate u give asap! I kept hearing people talk about it and kept meaning to read it and then I finally did last week and it was AMAZING! like 5 star worthy easily 👌!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So you’ve included two of my favorite books of all time on here. Ah! I read Aristotle and Dante in a day. I couldn’t put it down! It was so good and just so, so beautiful. I also reeeeeally love Half Bad, and I think it’s a really underrated YA book. Nathan and Gabriel are just so ughhh. I don’t even have the words. The world and writing are also really cool and interesting. The magic system is weird, and I know this sounds weird, but I love that they use guns. I feel like in a lot of urban fantasy series I’m like, “Okay cool, but wouldn’t a gun be a lot more effective than your sword??” Hope you get to these soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ha… don’t hate me because I’m this inspiring bookworm but… I’m reading the hate u give now and P, YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK NEXT. so freaking good.
    I SOOOO want to get Aristoteles and Dante!!! I want to kick myself in the butt every time I remember I haven’t read it yet. Now get closer dear… closer… I want to talk to you in private… closer… patting you in the back now, looking at you with love… whispering in your ear.. [don’t you worry about that Blue Lily thingy. That series is terrible] HAHA sorry I had to do that. You know of my Raven Boys aversion 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Absolutely stunning photos Prabhleen. The one standout for me is The Hate U Give. Such an important and confronting read. Aristotle and Dante is absolutely lovely and still remains one of my favourite reads. Hopefully life is treating you well and you can find time to crack a few of these open, looking forward to seeing what you think ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I am dying to read The Hate U Give too! I haven’t heard a single negative thing about it, so I’m crossing my fingers that I enjoy it as much as everyone else has. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  14. oh your list is almost my list! except for Maggie. I think I mentioned I can’t read her YET. 🙂 I hope one day to evolve to that level 🙂 ]. The Hate U give. READ IT! ASAP! My review came up on the blog this week. SO RELEVANT I can’t even. I’m reading Aristotle next, as soon as I finish Simon vs the Homo sapiens. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

